Fister News!

The Melvins’ Buzz Osborne to Release First Full-Length Record “This Machine Kills Artists”


Photo credit: Mackie Osborne

I saw the Melvins perform in Urbana, Illinois way back in 1994. They played a full electric set at the infamous Mabel’s, a live music staple, but before the show, they did an in-store performance I’ll never forget. It was the middle of the afternoon and I was staring at King Buzzo’s real life Sideshow Bob hair, a surreal moment to begin with. I assumed the performance at Record Swap was going to be scaled back, but cracking amplifiers lined the band’s riser. Melvins came on like a buzzsaw and jaws literally dropped. Somewhere between Buzzo telling us we could shoplift all we wanted (because the label would pay for it) and the staff’s eye’s bugging out, the first notes of Honeybucket rang out. I was floored. Here I am exactly 20 years later and I’m seeing Buzz Osborne on Thursday. The short trip to Louisville will be especially worth it since I have press pass waiting at the door. I can’t wait to share the photos and the experience. In the meantime, read on about Buzz Osborne’s debut solo record.

Los Angeles, March 18, 2014 – Buzz Osborne, the legendary grunge progenitor who has helmed the Melvins for thirty plus years, releases his debut solo full-length album, This Machine Kills Artists, on June 3 via Ipecac Recordings.

“I have no interest in sounding like a crappy version of James Taylor or a half-assed version of Woody Guthrie,” said the grunge progenitor of the 17-song offering, continuing, “which is what happens when almost every rock and roller straps on an acoustic guitar. No thanks… This Machine Kills Artists is a different kind of animal.”

Rolling Stone gave listeners early access to music from Osborne’s acoustic release, premiering the song “Dark Brown Teeth”: The magazine described the song as “doomy, ill-angled” and with the “Beefheartian edge his band is renowned for.”

Osborne is currently touring for the first time as a solo artist, wrapping up a three-week trek that included a SXSW interview session with The Stooges’ James Williamson. Remaining dates are: March 20 at Zanzabar in Louisville, March 21 at Radio Radio in Indianapolis, March 22 at Beat Kitchen in Chicago and March 23 at the High Noon Saloon in Madison. An extensive North American tour kicking off in June will be announced shortly.


This Machine Kills Artists track listing:

  1. Dark Brown Teeth
  2. Rough Democracy
  3. Laid Back Walking
  4. Drunken Baby
  5. Vaulting Over A Microphone
  6. New River
  7. The Vulgar Joke
  8. Everything’s Easy For You
  9. The Ripping Driving
  10. How I Became Offensive
  11. Instrument of God
  12. The Spoiled Brat
  13. Illegal Mona
  14. Good and Hostile
  15. The Blithering Idiot
  16. Useless King of the Punks
  17. The Hesitation Twist

And just for the hell of it, a little Honeybucket action.





About Fister Roboto (2239 Articles)
Just ring it up with the dong tea...

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: